Nov 11, 2018

Day 8 – Amazing Doubles Action; Yates/Johns, Kovalova/Tereschenko Cature Gold

Pro play continued Saturday as we entered the final weekend of pickleball action here at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The final 16 teams remaining from Friday’s Men’s and Women’s Pro and Sr. Pro divisions played their semi and gold medal matches to the thrill of a rocking Margaritaville Championship Court.

In the Senior Pro Women’s bracket today, the match between Cammy MacGregor-Jennifer Dawson vs. Kris Anderson-Bonnie Williams was one for the ages. The games were intense, and the points kept everyone on the edge of their seats throughout the entire match. The match went three games (11-6, 8-11,12-10) and was ultimately decided with a tie-breaker game to 15 with MacGregor-Dawson winning 15-13 securing the gold.

Not to be outdone, the Senior Pro Men final featuring Del Kauss-Kevin Booth, and Scott Moore-Glen Peterson also had to be decided with a tie-breaker with Kauss-Booth taking the gold medal winning 9-11, 11-2, 6-11 and 15-12.

The Pro Women’s Open gold went to Lucy Kovalova-Irena Tereschenko who defeated Simone Jardim-Corrin Carr with scores of 11-8,11-8.

For the final evening match of the night, the Margaritaville Championship Court crowd was certainly pumped up by the stadium DJ and the stilt-walker dancers. Everyone in the stands and watching on ESPN3 were ready for a highlight-reel match and the Pro Men’s Doubles teams featuring Dave Weinbach-Matt Wright and Kyle Yates-Ben Johns did not disappoint. The back and forth action was intense and featured some unbelievable points.  In yet and other tie-breaker final, the gold medal ultimately went to Yates and Johns with scores of 8-11,14-11,11-2, and the 15-6 decider.

Saturday also included a very special appearance at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.  Pickleball players and fans at the tournament and watching on ESPN3 were treated to a surprise visit as 92-year-old, Barney McCallum was honored during a special presentation at the Margaritaville Championship Court. McCallum, along with Washington State Congressman, Joel Pritchard and Bill Bell, is credited as being one of the originators of the game of pickleball.  Back in 1965, the three gentlemen crafted make-shift, wooden paddles and used Joel’s backyard badminton court to create a new game that has now transcended the globe and has 3.1 million players here in the U.S.

On Tap for Today:  Sunday, Nov. 11

Today we are looking forward to the final day of this year’s tournament as the event concludes with a packed day of singles play featuring Pro Men/Women and Sr. Pro Men/Women (5.0) who will all compete for national championship hardware and a share of this year’s $75,000 cash purse. Look for reigning Pro Men’s national champion, Tyson McGuffin and Pro Women’s national champion, Simone Jardim to battle an extremely talented list of challengers today. Juniors (all ages) will also play their singles brackets.

The Boathouse has coffee and limited food service available starting today at 7AM. The Margaritaville License to Chill Bar and Stage kicks off with full food service beginning at 10AM with bar service 11AM – 8PM. The Margaritaville Pop-Up Bar will be open from 10AM – 5PM down by the lower courts.  For music entertainment, today will feature Joe Jones from 12PM-3PM in the Margaritaville Shade Pavilion 2.  Throughout the day players and spectators are encouraged to stop by the Interactive Fun Zone starting at 8AM for ping-pong, corn hole, and photo opportunities with “Pickles the Dog”.

Final Day (Sunday) Retail Sale: All remaining event merchandise featuring the 2018 Margaritaville USA Pickleball National Championships logo is 40% off!  Sizes and colors are limited, and all sales are final.

Last Call for Stadium Tours: Today is the last opportunity for the guided tour of the Indian Wells Tennis Garden Stadium 1. With over 16,000 seats, this is the second largest tennis stadium in the world and one of the crown jewels for the sport.  Get a behind the scenes look at the media rooms, player interview room, luxury boxes and more!  Stop by the USA Pickleball Information Center and sign up for either the 11AM or 1PM tour. Tours are free and limited to 30 people each.

Where to Watch:

The Margaritaville Championship Court Live Cam is a special HD baseline-mounted camera, featuring a real-time, onscreen scoreboard.  Due to music licensing reasons, the audio feed for this camera is not available. This livestream is available daily from the official Event website.

ESPN3 will conclude their livestream coverage of the Event today.  The free livestream will again be 4PM-8PM EST. Today’s broadcast *schedule will be:

  • 4:00PM EST/1:00PM PST: WOMEN’S PRO SINGLES – GOLD MEDAL MATCH
  • 5:00PM EST/2:00PM PST: MEN’S PRO SINGLES – BEST BRACKET MATCH AVAILABLE
  • 6:00PM EST/3:00PM PST: MEN’S PRO SINGLES – BEST BRACKET MATCH AVAILABLE
  • 7:00PM EST/4:00PM PST: MEN’S PRO SINGLES – GOLD MEDAL MATCH

*matches and exact start times within today’s broadcast are subject to change as we are playing all brackets from start to completion.

Tennis legends Luke and Murphy Jensen will host.  In case you missed any of the ESPN3 action this week, replays of the daily broadcasts (Nov. 8-11) are available on ESPN3 event page (see Replay tab).

Mark your calendars for Sunday, November 25 at 3PM EST/12PM PST as a one-hour, nationally televised presentation of the 2018 Margaritaville USA Pickleball National Championships will air on ESPNEWS.