Nov 10, 2018

Day 7 – Double Dose of Action

Friday, November 9

Friday was another huge day at the Margaritaville USA Pickleball National Championships as both the Men’s and Women’s Pro and Senior Pro (5.0 divisions) kicked off what is sure to be an incredible weekend of pickleball action. Friday’s format had all four divisions playing up to the semi-finals, narrowing the field to the top four teams in each. After resting up from a grueling day, these players will return to action on Saturday to compete for the national championship hardware and a piece of the $75,000 cash purse. Fans not in attendance can watch the action on ESPN3’s live stream coverage starting at 4:00PM EST/1:00PM PST.

Teams competing Saturday:

Pro Men’s Doubles:

Kyle Yates-Ben Johns, Matt Wright-Dave Weinbach,
Matt Goebel-Tyson McGuffin, Marcin Rozpedski-Daniel Moore

Pro Women’s Doubles:

Lucy Kovalova-Irena Tereschenko, Simone Jardim-Corrine Carr,
Catherine Parenteau-Suzee Anderson, Andrea Koop-Maggie Remynse

Sr. Pro Men’s Doubles:

Del Kauss-Kevin Booth, Scott Moore-Glen Peterson,
Tony Tollenaar-Scott Clayson, David Redding-Dave Flemming

Sr. Pro Women’s Doubles:

Cammy MacGregor-Jennifer Dawson, Kris Anderson-Bonnie Williams,
Lisa Naumu-Gi Gi LeMaster, Alex Hamner-Jennifer Lucore

In the Pro Women’s Doubles division, we had a major upset in the bracket as the team of Andrea Koop and Maggie Remynse knocked off the powerhouse team of Sarah Ansboury and Christine McGrath.  Both teams gave it their all with Koop-Remynse winning the last game by a final of 16-14.

In the afternoon, we got our first look at some of pickleball’s top junior with a strong field of players ranging in ages from 8-18. The boy’s brackets this weekend include: 8-13, 14-16, and 17-18. What a thrill to see young Danny Phillips (Utah) at age 8 complete for a national juniors pickleball title here at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The girl’s bracket this year will feature 15-18.

On Tap for Today:  Saturday Nov. 9

Today’s featured matches will include both the Men’s and Women’s Doubles Pro & Sr. Pro divisions – Semi’s through Gold. Today also features, Men’s and Women’s Doubles Skill/Age 3.0-3.5 (all ages) and Junior Mixed Doubles (all ages). Competition today starts at 8:00AM.

Championship Court

9:00AM
Lucy Kovalova/Irina Tereschenko vs Simone Jardim/Corrine Carr
10:15AM
Kyle Yates/Ben Johns vs Dave Weinbach/Matt Wright

Outer Courts (2-5)

9:00AM
Pro Men’s 4th – Marcin Rozpedski/Daniel Moore vs. Matt Goebel/Tyson McGuffin
Pro Women’s 4th -Catherine Parenteau/Suzie Anderson vs Maggie Remynse/Andrea Coop
Sr. Pro Women’s Winners Final – Cammy McGregor/Jennifer Dawson vs Bonnie Williams/Kris Anderson
Senior Pro Women’s 4th – Lisa Naumu/Gigi LeMaster vs Alex Hamner/Jennifer Lucore
9:45AM
Senior Pro Men’s 4th – Tony Tollenaar/Scott Clayson vs David Redding/David Fleming
Senior Pro Men’s Winners Final – Del Kauss/Kevin Booth vs. Scott Moore/Glenn Peterson

Every Team on list could possibly be on the Championship Court at some point during the day. Depends on winners of each of the above matches.

The Boathouse has coffee and limited food service available starting at 7AM. The Margaritaville License to Chill Bar and Stage kicks off with full food service beginning at 10AM with bar service 11AM – 8PM. The Margaritaville Pop-Up Bar will be open from 10AM – 5PM down by the lower courts.  For evening entertainment, tonight will be “The Smash Up” from 4-7PM  in the Margaritaville Shade Pavilion 2.  Throughout the day players and spectators are encouraged to stop by the Interactive Fun Zone from 8AM-8PM for ping-pong, corn hole, and photo opportunities.

Be sure to also stop by the USA Pickleball Information Center and sign up for a guided tour of the Indian Wells Tennis Garden Stadium 1. With over 16,000 seats, this is the second largest tennis stadium in the world and one of the crown jewels for the sport.  Go behind the scenes look at the media rooms, player interview room, luxury boxes and more!  Two FREE tours of 30 people each are offered each day.

Where to Watch:

The Margaritaville Championship Court Live Cam is a special HD baseline-mounted camera, featuring an onscreen scoreboard and live court audio.  This livestream is available daily from the official Event website.  Due to licensing issues with the championship court music, the audio feed for this camera is unfortunately not available.

ESPN3 will continue their livestream coverage of the Event today.  The free livestream will again be 4PM-8PM EST today and Sunday. Today’s broadcast *schedule will be:

  • 4:00PM EST/1:00PM PST: MEN’S PRO DOUBLES – BRONZE MEDAL MATCH
  • 5:00PM EST/2:00PM PST: WOMEN’S PRO DOUBLES – GOLD MEDAL MATCH
  • 6:00PM EST/3:00PM PST: SR. PRO MEN’S DOUBLES – GOLD MEDAL MATCH
  • 7:00PM EST/4:00PM PST: MEN’S PRO DOUBLES – GOLD MEDAL MATCH

*matches and exact start times within today’s broadcast are subject to change

Tennis legends Luke and Murphy Jensen will host.  In addition, a one-hour national televised special presentation of the 2018 Margaritaville USA Pickleball National Championships will air on ESPNEWS on Sunday, November 25 at 3PM EST.